6 months

So the first five months of this year have gone by, and looking back on them I kind of feel like I haven’t accomplished as much as I wanted to, or probably should have.

The good

  1. First dance recital!
  2. Completed Beginner Lyra and am in Intermediate (2 lessons)
  3. 6 lessons of silk with my new teacher so far.
  4. Finally being able to chaine (on my left side). God knows how long I took. Having lots of fun with leaps as well.
  5. Made some decent progress with flexibility.

The to-be-improved ons

  1. Stretching every day.
  2. My ever-dying bank account
  3. Strength training outside of dance and circus.

I’m happy with what I’ve achieved so far. I can’t describe the joy I feel whenever I attend my classes.

Nevertheless, I know I can be doing better. And I’ve said this a million times, but I should be working harder.

New goals for 2016

  1. Achieving full front and middle splits by December by stretching every day.
  2. Progress to advanced lyra and working on choreography
  3. Complete at least 30 silk lessons
  4. Progress in Dance
  5. A free-standing handstand
  6. 30 pull-ups

… and many others. I could go on and on, but these goals will be my priorities.

I’ve been making considerable progress from running the Armstrong Pull up Programme so far. Started with a max of 11 in Week 1 and am at 13 in Week 3 now. Total reps on every other day has been increasing as well, and Friday’s pulls fit in perfectly with my silk lesson so I have a little variety. Moved the schedule up and down a little this week to get a little more rest for my aerial sessions but nevertheless, I crushed Day 2 and 3 both today for W3. Definitely would have gotten more if I had done it tomorrow, but considering my thursday class I had to compromise. I shall give a full review of the program after 8 weeks or so, unless I hit a pretty solid wall before that.

much love.

 

 

Leave a Reply

